2018-03-14 / Front Page

MC BOE Meets in Regular Session

L-R: Superintendent James Phillips, Rick Little, Vic Fllet, Sheila Allen, Jarrott Mock and Leroy Bush. L-R: Superintendent James Phillips, Rick Little, Vic Fllet, Sheila Allen, Jarrott Mock and Leroy Bush. The Miller County Board of Education met in a regular session meeting on Monday, March 5, 2018, at 6:00 p.m. with the following members present: James Phillips, Superintendent, Vic Fleet, Sheila Allen, Leroy Bush, Rick Little and Jarrott Mock.

Chairman Vic Fleet called the meeting to order by Sheila Allen leading the Pledge of Allegiance.

The agenda was amended to include open property bid and accept bid.

Mr. Allen Martin gave the elementary school report, followed by Mr. Cleve Roland giving the middle school report.

Dr. Princess N’Dow was not present at the board meeting. Superintendent Phillips gave the high school report. Ms. Holly Thomas and the band were recognized for receiving 3 of 3 and a superior rating at their concert festival.

Superintendent Phillips also gave the district report followed by Robert Green who stated that there will be functional monitoring on April 4, 2018, for all federal programs. It was announced that Mr. Green is the representative for this congressional district for Statewide Title I.

Colquitt’s Chief of Police Hollis Smith gave a presentation during the public participation portion of the board meeting. He stated that there will be a lockdown and an active shooter course simulation on March 9. The Colquitt Police Department would provide all of the required training.

All fund- raisers and out-of-town travel requests were approved.

It was stated in the financial statements that the school has completed 66% of the year and has only spent 59% of the budget.

The Board voted to approve personnel recommendations separately.

Those hired were Elizabeth Crawford, Student Services Director; Robert Green, Federal Programs Director; Jodi Collins, Special Education Director; Joe Cook, Transportation Director; Cleve Roland, Middle School Principal; and Temika Brown, Assistant Principal.

Superintendent Phillips recommended to rehire Allen Martin as Elementary School Principal. Rick Little and Leroy Bush voted yes. Vic Fleet, Jarrott Mock and Sheila Allen voted no. Majority vote was not to hire Allen Martin as the Elementary School Principal.

It was stated that April Powell would like to transfer duties from fourth grade teacher to middle/high SpEd teacher.

On the recommendation of Superintendent Phillips, the board accepted the following resignations: Dr. Princess N’Dow, effective March 30, 2018; Dr. Cyndy Stewart, effective at the end of the 2017- 2018 school year; Brent Miller, effective at the end of the 2017-2018 school year.

The board then voted to advertise for a high school principal, along with a registrar, tech specialist, bus mechanic, and half-time math coach.

The following were hired by the approval of the board: SPED Paraprofessional, Valarie Poff; Substitutes, Sharon Hall, Tracy Kimbrel, Jean Burke, and Neva Odom.

A motion was made and passed to approve the amended pay for secretaries (early morning duties); and to lay the Updated Homeless Policy on the table for 30 days and vote on it at the next meeting.

Ms. Pam Mock was approved as the new Principal Program/Contact for the Child and Adult Care Food Program (supper program).

Maternity leave was approved for Brittany Bowen.

Mark Worsley was approved as a community coach for middle school baseball.

The Miller County Library Board Re-appointment for Mr. Wallace Phillips was approved.

The Board members opened a sealed bid for property tract 1 (the old bus shop). The bid was placed by the City of Colquitt and was for $20,000.00. The motion was made and passed to accept the property bid.

Debra Stovall and her son, Chris Stovall, then spoke to the board about their wishes for Coach Brent Miller to stay with the Miller County School System. Ms. Stovall stated that Coach Miller had helped her son to want to stay in school and get good grades. She also thinks that he has really brought the football team together.

Superintendent Phillips made the motion to adjourn at 7:00 p.m. Motion carried.

Return to top