2009-09-16 / Community

Miller County Retired Educators to begin new year

The Miller County Retired Educators Association (MCREA) will begin its 2009-2010 membership year with lunch at Helen's Pirate's Cove Restaurant on Thursday, September 17. This group meets at 11:30 a.m. on the third Thursday in the months of September, November, February, April and May. Any person who has retired from the field of education or anyone who agrees to support the mission and objectives of MCREA is invited to pay the dues of $25.00 and join the fellowship. Members are also encouraged to join the state organization, Georgia Retired Educators Association (GREA).

Officers for the new year are Suzanne Wells, president of MCREA; Beverly Richardson, immediate past president; Sandra East, vice president; Maxine Summers, secretary; and Mae Adkins, treasurer. Other members who serve as chairpersons of committees are Jim East, Joanne Holland, Barbara Clearman, Becky Braswell, and Marian Walker.

The 2008-2009 State Convention was held in Augusta in May, 2009. Mrs. Walker was the representative for the local group. She accepted the following awards for MCREA: Local Unit Charter Certificate (Charter Date - 1981), the GREA Archives and History Certificate, the GREA Foundation, Incorporated Certificate, the GREA History Participation Award, the GREA Handbook Participation Award, the GREA Public Relations Award, the GREA Newsletter Participation Award, the GREA Scholarship Participation Award, and the GREA Unit of Excellence Award.

Any retiree who is interested in fellowship with the other former educators and in the promotion of the betterment of education at the local level through the scholarship programs is invited to join this group at Helen's on September 17. Lunch begins at 11:30 and is followed by an informative program.

Return to top