2008-02-20 / Community

Farm Credit holds stockholders' meeting

Southwest Georgia Farm Credit hosted its annual stockholders' meeting Tuesday evening, February 12, at Darton College, giving its member-borrowers an opportunity to enjoy a delicious seafood buffet while hearing about the state of the Association.

Nearly 253 members, guests and employees of the cooperative attended and took advantage of the opportunity to cast their ballots for positions open on the Board of Directors. Current directors Alton H. Fendley Jr., of Bluffton and Charlie Burch of Newton were re-elected to threeyear terms. Other members of the board include Bobby J. Brooks, Edison; T.E. Allen III, Shellman; Clifford Dollar, Bainbridge; Robert Moss, Plains, T.E. Moye Jr., Newton; Robert L. Holden Sr., Whigham; Jeff Clark, Tallahassee, FL.; and B.E. Powell, Buena Vista. A 2009 Nominating Committee was also elected.

Mr. Brooks, chairman of the Board of Directors, presided over the meeting. Charlie Burch, vice chairman, reported that the Association is sound financially and has posted favorable capital levels, high asset quality and strong earnings.

Richard S. Monson, president and chief executive officer, provided a 2007 financial and operations report, and Mr. Holden provided an update from the AgFirst Farm Credit Bank Board of Directors.

Return to top